Profile Image

skeeterbess

From Waianae, Hawaii USA
Age 67
Joined Monday, February 10, 2003
Recent Book Activity
Statistics
4 weeks all time
books registered 0 466
released in the wild 0 296
controlled releases 0 0
releases caught 0 27
controlled releases caught 0 0
books found 0 36
tell-a-friend referrals 0 180
new member referrals 0 12
forum posts 0 4,358
Extended Profile
The above picture is about twelve years old, but it's doing what I still do every chance I get.

You can see my flikr photos here: flickr.com/---/skeeterbess/

Mahalo to Ely's mom, who could not take all of her books when she moved. The first of them are already out seeking new friends, with more to follow soon!



www.maethos.info/---/spiralblob.gif" width="90" height="98" border="0" alt="Adopt your own useless blob!">



How to make a skeeterbess
Ingredients:

1 part competetiveness

1 part silliness

5 parts instinct
Method:
Stir together in a glass tumbler with a salted rim. Add fitness to taste! Do not overindulge!


Username:


Personality cocktail
From Go-Quiz.com

I'm a Southern gal, born in Texas, raised outside of New Orleans, and find myself now, somehow, improbably, living on the leeward coast of Oahu. There was a seven year stint in the San Francisco area prior to my move here, and my son has returned there. He's a casino dealer and gambler by profession. Not exactly what Mom expected from him, but he's happy so I'm quite content with the situation.

I do termite inspections for real estate transactions. I stumbled into this career quite by accident, after many years of not quite making a living at various pink- and blue-collor jobs. I like it and I'm quite good at what I do.

There was probably a time when I couldn't read and didn't love books, but I don't remember it. Bookcrossing has broadened my horizons. My habit-of-a-lifetime was to read mysteries, police procedurals and a little sci-fi and fantasy. In the last year I've been intorduced to Christopher Moore and Barbara Kingsolver. The Life of Pi, The Kite Runner, Middlesex, The Secret Life of Bees, The Lovely Bones ... all have absorbed my time and seized my imagination. I can no longer define a genre that I would call my favorite.

Lance the beagle and Buddy the poi dog are my housemates and a sweet blessing, though they do each have a scampish side. I swim and snorkel when I can find the time. I was afraid of the water before moving here. The first time I got into the ocean with a mask on my face I discovered that I wasn't afraid of the water at all ... I think it was the disorientation caused by being blind in the water that used to cause me to panic whenever it crept higher than my ankles. My mask with prescription lenses is one of my most precious possessions. I'm slowly remodeling my little fixer-upper home, doing everything that I can for myself and haggling with contractors for the rest. It may be finished some day. I cook some and do a little needlework and a little gardening. Kumu Kahua Theatre is another passion and I attend all of their productions. I meet monthly (or more often when possible) with Table of Contents, a group of local BookCrossers. The gals in the group have an unusual chemistry going on & we have all become "best friends."


Are you sure you want to delete this item? It cannot be undone.