Profile Image


From Porto - City, Porto Portugal
Age 52
Joined Friday, February 14, 2003
Recent Book Activity
4 weeks all time
books registered 0 73
released in the wild 0 20
controlled releases 0 1
releases caught 0 4
controlled releases caught 0 1
books found 0 10
tell-a-friend referrals 0 10
new member referrals 0 1
forum posts 0 34
Extended Profile
From one corner of Europe to another: here I am (for the largest part of the year), in Porto, right at the Atlantic coast in Northern Portugal. A charming town with very friendly people but far too many cars...

My childhood and youth in countryside Skåne (southern Sweden) was books and horses - my Dad took me riding, my Mum took me to the library! While I've realised that horses are incompatible with a busy professional life and a city-centre flat (but they remain a retirement plan!), I hold on to the books. I read books preferably in one of the following languages: English, Português or Svenska. Brushing up my Deutsch is a project I've given in on - but am enjoying trying to catch up on Dansk. Any book that's on my shelf is there to be released. I'm happy to send books within Europe without any particular restrictions, and intercontinentally if trading.

What I like most about books is that they allow you to look into the souls of other persons and try to see the world as they do - so the books I like most are those that tell stories about people! A well-written crime story with lots of psychology is just great. But I like more poetic stuff also. There are two Michaels among my very favourites: Ondaatje and Cunningham. None of them has more than half a dozen books or so published so I savour them slowly with other snacks in between. Besides, I don't have half the time for reading as I used to have when younger and less workaholic. I still keep on looking for books that I think I will like, though ...

Are you sure you want to delete this item? It cannot be undone.