Profile Image


From Springwood, New South Wales Australia
Age 46
Joined Wednesday, May 23, 2012
Recent Book Activity
4 weeks all time
books registered 0 1,832
released in the wild 0 523
controlled releases 0 1,119
releases caught 0 43
controlled releases caught 1 170
books found 0 7
tell-a-friend referrals 0 9
new member referrals 0 3
forum posts 0 0
Extended Profile
Blue Mountains City Library provides a free library service to the people of the Blue Mountains, New South Wales, Australia. There are six branches strategically positioned throughout the local government area, in the townships of Springwood, Katoomba, Blaxland, Lawson, Blackheath and Wentworth Falls. The Library’s aim is to provide a cultural hub and focal point in the community. The libraries are free, welcoming and safe places to be; where people can connect with each other, seeking recreation, education, information and life-long learning experiences.

Blue Mountains attracts millions of visitors from throughout the world, making it one of the top three tourist destinations in Australia. The Blue Mountains is a special place of ancient landscapes, towering golden-hued stone escarpments, crashing waterfalls and magnificent eucalypts. It is so special that it is inscribed on the World Heritage list, for its outstanding universal values.

The Blue Mountains is home to the Darug and Gundungurra aboriginal peoples who treasure their connections with the land - encapsulated in their stories and art, ceremony and song, as well as knowledge of landforms, climate, plants and animal life.

Blue Mountains City is home to just 75,000 people and is the only 'proclaimed' city in the world located in a World Heritage Area. The city is a charming collection of mountain villages and hamlets,, each with its own style and character. Blue Mountains City Council administration is based in Katoomba, the region's largest town and home to the world famous Three Sisters rock formation. Council serves 26 townships, in a local government area of 1,433 square kilometres. The 26 townships are situated from 50 to 120 km west of Sydney and cover a 100km strip of sandstone ridge within the 1,000 square kilometres of the World Heritage Area.

Are you sure you want to delete this item? It cannot be undone.