The Spare Room

by Helen Garner | Literature & Fiction |
ISBN: 9781847672650 Global Overview for this book
Registered by wingcanongatebookswing on 11/23/2008
Buy from one of these Booksellers:
Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR | Amazon IT | Bol.com
This book is in the wild! This Book is Currently in the Wild!
5 journalers for this copy...
Journal Entry 1 by wingcanongatebookswing on Sunday, November 23, 2008

Journal Entry 2 by Londonlife from London, Greater London United Kingdom on Sunday, November 23, 2008
Very kindly sent to me by cannongatebooks. Will read and journal fully soon.

Journal Entry 3 by weegie from Livingston, Scotland United Kingdom on Wednesday, December 03, 2008
Received as part of a giveaway.Enjoyed book immensely, great read and well drawn chracters. Easy if somewhat harrowing read. My wife is reading next.

Journal Entry 4 by weegie at Jeremiah's Taproom, 8 Elm Row in Edinburgh, Scotland United Kingdom on Sunday, September 16, 2018

Released 11 mos ago (9/16/2018 UTC) at Jeremiah's Taproom, 8 Elm Row in Edinburgh, Scotland United Kingdom

WILD RELEASE NOTES:

Quirky little book

Journal Entry 5 by rainbow3 at Edinburgh, Scotland United Kingdom on Monday, March 04, 2019
Okey dokey, didn't catch sight of this when I popped into Jeremiah's Taproom last month aiming to sort the books on the shelf. I spent time registering and labelling books on the shelf and thinning out the piles by taking some books elsewhere. I’m assuming someone has taken and returned this, though no note was posted on the books BookCrossing page. So we’ve no idea what any new reader thought of it, which for me is a little disappointing, as I love finding what others thought of books I too have read.

A books history with other readers is interesting; it’s even good to know if a reader was not encouraged to read it even after having picked it out from its fellows on the shelf take home. Sigh, convincing readers they can leave notes even without joining in the BookCrossing circus takes a lucky day. Hey ho!

Enough of the rambling, I've got a couple of ideas for this, am picking it up & marking it as available as I get my act together.

Journal Entry 6 by rainbow3 at Edinburgh, Scotland United Kingdom on Monday, July 15, 2019
Apologies for some late book notes, inserted here.

Book burble: Like Carol Shields, Joan Didion and Kate Grenville in previous years, Helen Garner is a bestselling writer waiting to be discovered by a British audience.

The Spare Room is an electrifying novel about the distance a friendship must travel, and the depths it must plumb, when confronted by the threat of death. It is full of wisdom, dark with laughter and truth.

• Dealing with powerful, emotive themes, this is a perfect reading group novel.
• Widespread review coverage is anticipated for this exquisitely written story.
• The spare room will appeal to fans of Penelope Fitzgerald, Rose Tremain, Ann Patchett and Salley Vickers.

‘Garner is a storyteller, an observer … her style is beautifully simple… people who are on a fixed diet of fiction or who graze on airport shelves could cleanse their palates with Garner as they might once have done with Jane Austen.’ Sydney Morning Herald
‘Helen Garner writes the best sentences in Australia.’ The Bulletin

THE SPARE ROOM by HELEN GARNER (2008) | ISBN: 9781847672650 | Publisher: Canongate [Uncorrected manuscript; not for resale or Quotation - July 2008 - £12:99 - B-format HBK]

Journal Entry 7 by rainbow3 at Tingwall in Orkney Islands, Scotland United Kingdom on Monday, July 15, 2019

Released 1 mo ago (6/23/2019 UTC) at Tingwall in Orkney Islands, Scotland United Kingdom

WILD RELEASE NOTES:

My thoughts on reading THE SPARE ROOM… notes made Apr 2019. Apologies again for my delay in appending these notes.

Melbourne, Australia is the contemporary setting here, the writer is also Australian however the publisher is Scottish. One of the friends and almost incidental carers of an end stage bowel cancer patient narrates her experience of her friends fight to survive. A short book which is both devastating and life-affirming. Glad I read it, thought provoking and it just felt so real! Expect I will pass it on soon though I am tempted to read it again… We shall see…

OK took this along - Sun 23 June - to a BookCrossing Meet-up with the Old Gang in Edinburgh to pass onto another reader.
---------------------

PLEASE NOTE I do not have this book, it was most recently left by BookCrosser earthcaroleanne at Betty’s reading room in Tingwall, Orkney, United Kingdom see journal entry 7 above.

Journal Entry 8 by earthcaroleanne at Edinburgh, Scotland United Kingdom on Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Picked up at the old gang meetup up for Poddlesister.

Journal Entry 9 by earthcaroleanne at Betty reading room in Tingwall, Scotland United Kingdom on Tuesday, July 16, 2019

Released 1 mo ago (7/16/2019 UTC) at Betty reading room in Tingwall, Scotland United Kingdom

WILD RELEASE NOTES:

Themed release in Betty's Reading Room. I want a spare room like that.

Are you sure you want to delete this item? It cannot be undone.