The Reader on the 6.27

by Jean-Paul DIDIERLAURENT | Literature & Fiction |
ISBN: 1447276493 Global Overview for this book
Registered by wingestelle1806wing of Clonsilla, Co. Dublin Ireland on 2/4/2022
Buy from one of these Booksellers:
Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR | Amazon IT | Bol.com
4 journalers for this copy...
Journal Entry 1 by wingestelle1806wing from Clonsilla, Co. Dublin Ireland on Friday, February 4, 2022
You have found a travelling book, enjoy it and release it!

Vous avez trouvé un livre voyageur, lisez-le et libérez-le !

Journal Entry 2 by wingestelle1806wing at Clonsilla, Co. Dublin Ireland on Wednesday, May 24, 2023

Released 1 yr ago (5/24/2023 UTC) at Clonsilla, Co. Dublin Ireland

CONTROLLED RELEASE NOTES:

Added to Fifna's EU only Fiction Bookbox.

Please let us know when you release it again...

Journal Entry 3 by Andrasthe at Klagenfurt, Kärnten Austria on Sunday, October 8, 2023
It may stay with me for a little while. Thank you for including it :)

"Guylain Vignolles lives on the edge of existence. Working at a book pulping factory in a job he hates, he has but one pleasure in life . . .
Sitting on the 6.27 train each day, Guylain recites aloud from pages he has saved from the jaws of his monstrous pulping machine. But it is when he discovers the diary of a lonely young woman, Julie - a woman who feels as lost in the world as he does - that his journey will truly begin . . .
The Reader on the 6.27 is a tale bursting with larger-than-life characters, each of whom touches Guylain's life for the better. For fans of Amelie and Mr Penumbra's 24-hour Bookstore, this captivating novel is a warm, funny fable about literature's power to uplift even the most downtrodden of lives."

Well, Amelie it was not. I enjoyed the characters and the vivid descripitons of the German beast. I enjoyed the protagonist's travelling habits and his pet(s). The journal was intruiging, but the end was a bit too kitschy and left a lot of questions unanswered for me.

A quote I liked: "I quickly had to come to terms with the fact that people generally expect only one thing of you: that you reflect back the image of what they want you to be."

This was an entertaining, quick read with a lot of alexandrines ;)

Journal Entry 4 by wingLindasauruswing at Wien Bezirk 03 - Landstraße, Wien Austria on Wednesday, October 18, 2023
Thank you very much Andrasthe for this book and the labels! I don't really remember how this book ended up on my wishlist, but I look forward to reading it!

Journal Entry 5 by wingLindasauruswing at Wien - irgendwo / Vienna - somewhere, Wien Austria on Friday, November 10, 2023
I finished this book today. Guylain reminded me a little of the character of Don Tillman in The Rosie Project, a book that I absolutely loved! He had the same quirkiness about him, probably also some form of autism, which came across very charming.
I liked learning about him and his crazy job and also about Julie - but for me the book was too short. Those 195 pages felt like the beginning of a book to me. They are good characters, well explained, well drawn. And now where is the rest of the book?

The book counts for efells Lesechallenge 2023 point B 2.

Journal Entry 6 by wingLindasauruswing at OBCZ Golden Harp in Wien Bezirk 09 - Alsergrund, Wien Austria on Friday, June 21, 2024

Released 1 mo ago (6/21/2024 UTC) at OBCZ Golden Harp in Wien Bezirk 09 - Alsergrund, Wien Austria

WILD RELEASE NOTES:

Mitgenommen zu meinem ersten Meet-up in Wien!

Journal Entry 7 by eligi at Leonding, Oberösterreich Austria on Friday, June 21, 2024
und ich hab das Buch gleich eingesteckt ;-)

Are you sure you want to delete this item? It cannot be undone.