Purple Hearts

by Michael Grant | Teens |
ISBN: 0062342223 Global Overview for this book
Registered by megami-no-ushi of Calgary, Alberta Canada on 9/14/2019
Buy from one of these Booksellers:
Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR | Amazon IT | Bol.com
3 journalers for this copy...
Journal Entry 1 by megami-no-ushi from Calgary, Alberta Canada on Saturday, September 14, 2019
New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes the gritty and powerful conclusion to the Front Line series and evokes the brutal truth of World War II: War is hell. An epic tale of historical reimagining, perfect for fans of Code Name Verity and Salt to the Sea.

Courage, sacrifice, and fear have lead Rio, Frangie, and Rainy through front-line battles in North Africa and Sicily, and their missions are not over. These soldiers and thousands of Allies must fight their deadliest battle yet—for their country and their lives—as they descend into the freezing water and onto the treacherous sands of Omaha Beach. It is June 6, 1944. D-Day has arrived.

No longer naive recruits, these soldier girls are now Silver Star recipients and battle-hardened. Others look to them for guidance and confidence, but this is a war that will leave sixty million dead. Flesh will turn to charcoal. Piles will be made of torn limbs. The women must find a way to lead while holding on to their own last shreds of belief in humanity.

Journal Entry 2 by megami-no-ushi at Calgary, Alberta Canada on Saturday, September 14, 2019

Released 1 mo ago (9/14/2019 UTC) at Calgary, Alberta Canada

CONTROLLED RELEASE NOTES:

Taken to the September meeting! We read front lines in the September meeting of the YA bookclub (I re-read) and after our conversation I was itching to finish the series. After a very tough week at work, I treated myself.

To the finder:
Calgary has an active group of BookCrossers that meet to swap books and discuss book crossing every second Saturday of the month at 11am at Cravings Market on Fairmount Drive SE. We always love to meet new crossers, so please join us any time you like!

Journal Entry 3 by locker-monster at Calgary, Alberta Canada on Saturday, September 14, 2019
Picked up this book at the Calgary BookCrossing September meet-up. Last book! Little bummed it's the end, but I can't wait to see how it turns out.

Journal Entry 4 by locker-monster at Calgary, Alberta Canada on Saturday, October 12, 2019
I'm sad this series is over, but what a great ending. It made me quite aware that I know very little about WWII. I do wish the book had spent a little more time on the concentration camps, but the bit that is in the book is already plenty haunting. The reveal of who the narrator is wasn't a surprise, but the author had laid the clues so it's nice there wasn't a big twist. And I love, love, love that romance was never a huge part of these books. Rio, Rainy, and Frangie were more focused on doing their jobs, though they do all get their happy endings.

Journal Entry 5 by locker-monster at Calgary, Alberta Canada on Saturday, October 12, 2019

Released 1 mo ago (10/12/2019 UTC) at Calgary, Alberta Canada

CONTROLLED RELEASE NOTES:

Passing on this book to the next reader at the Calgary BookCrossing October meet-up.

Journal Entry 6 by reveredchicken at Calgary, Alberta Canada on Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Caught at the monthly Book Crossing meeting at Cravings Market Restaurant.

Are you sure you want to delete this item? It cannot be undone.