Voyager: A Novel (Outlander)

by Diana Gabaldon | Literature & Fiction |
ISBN: 0440217563 Global Overview for this book
Registered by wingGoryDetailswing of Nashua, New Hampshire USA on 8/10/2017
Buy from one of these Booksellers:
Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR | Amazon IT | Bol.com
This book is in the wild! This Book is Currently in the Wild!
1 journaler for this copy...
Journal Entry 1 by wingGoryDetailswing from Nashua, New Hampshire USA on Thursday, August 10, 2017
I got this fair-condition paperback at a local Savers thrift shop, for another release copy - timely, now that the next season of the TV series is about to begin.

This is definitely one big book {grin}; at over a thousand pages it puts even the longest Harry Potter book in the shade. It's a fairly quick read, though, as the story catches us up on the doings of our hero and heroine during the twenty years they've been apart, divided by fate, politics, an ocean, and two hundred years... [This is the third of Gabaldon's "Outlander" series, and it would undoubtedly be very confusing to someone who hadn't at least read a summary of "Outlander" and "Dragonfly in Amber".]

It's a good read, lots of action punctuated by romance (some of that quite explicit and steamy), plenty of period detail, and a chase sequence that covers an ocean and uses up entirely too many ships. One drawback for me, though, with my tendency to become fonder of secondary characters than of the main ones, is that those secondary characters have so little "page time" in this book; Lord John Grey and young Ian Murray, while important to several subplots, aren't present for most of the story, and the charming rogue Fergus, while technically on stage for a much greater percentage of the tale, doesn't have as much to do as some of us might wish. Fans of Jamie and Claire will have their fill, though! [FWIW, I found the book's climactic chase scenes reaching near-ludicrous speed at some point - there really are only so many times one's ship can sink before it just seems silly {wry grin}, and while some amount of coincidence is vital to a good adventure/romance, it did get out of hand here and there. But it was fun anyway!]

There's a TV Tropes page on the series of books and on the TV adaptation, with some entertaining tidbits, but beware of spoilers if you haven't read it all yet.

Journal Entry 2 by wingGoryDetailswing at Little Free Library, Pleasant St. in Windsor, Connecticut USA on Monday, August 14, 2017

Released 2 yrs ago (8/13/2017 UTC) at Little Free Library, Pleasant St. in Windsor, Connecticut USA

WILD RELEASE NOTES:

I left this in the Little Free Library this afternoon; hope the finder enjoys it!

*** Released for the 2017 One Word Title release challenge. ***

*** Released for the 2017 TV Series release challenge. ***

Are you sure you want to delete this item? It cannot be undone.