Rivals in the Tudor Court

by Darcey Bonnette | Literature & Fiction |
ISBN: 1847562582 Global Overview for this book
Registered by Cfreckle of Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom on 12/9/2016
Buy from one of these Booksellers:
Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR | Amazon IT | Bol.com
8 journalers for this copy...
Journal Entry 1 by Cfreckle from Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom on Friday, December 09, 2016
Thomas Howard founded a dynasty and staked his place in history through a self-serving ruthlessness that allowed no rival to stand in his way.

But the true rivals of the Tudor court were those who stood alongside him: his wife and his mistress, who would battle to the end for him…

As Queen Catherine’s maid, and daughter of the Duke of Buckingham, the future seems bright for Elizabeth Stafford. But when her father gives her hand to Thomas Howard, third Duke of Norfolk, the spirited young woman must sacrifice all for duty. Yet Elizabeth is surprised by her passion for her powerful new husband. And when he takes on a mistress, she is determined to fight for her love and her honour…

Naïve and vulnerable, Bess Holland is easily charmed by the Duke of Norfolk, doing his bidding in exchange for gifts and adoration. For years, she and Elizabeth compete for his affections. But they are mere spectators to an obsession neither can rival: Norfolk’s quest to weave the Howard name into the royal bloodline.

The women’s loyalties are tested as his schemes unfold – among them the litigious marriage of his niece Anne Boleyn to King Henry VIII. But in an age of ruthless beheadings, no self-serving motive goes unpunished – and Elizabeth and Bess will have to fight a force more sinister than the executioner’s axe…

Journal Entry 2 by Cfreckle at Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom on Friday, December 09, 2016
Welcome to BookCrossing!

Thank you for picking up this book. If you’re new to BookCrossing and find this book and this site (www.bookcrossing.com), please make a journal entry to let me know that this book has found a good home with you. You may choose to remain anonymous or to join.

I hope you'll join BookCrossing (doesn't cost anything to join!) and if you do, please consider using me, Cfreckle, as your referring member. When you’ve finished reading this book and are ready to send it on its way again, make a journal entry if you are giving or sending this book to a known person, or a release note if you are leaving it “in the wild” again for anyone to catch. Then watch its journey. You’ll be alerted by e-mail each time someone makes another journal entry. And it’s confidential (you are known only by your screen name and no one is ever given your e-mail address), free, and spam-free.

Enjoy the site, the book and hopefully the BookCrossing community. If you’re already a BookCrossing member, thank you for picking up this book.

Happy BookCrossings!

Journal Entry 3 by Cfreckle at Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom on Friday, December 09, 2016

Released 4 yrs ago (12/9/2016 UTC) at Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom

CONTROLLED RELEASE NOTES:

Heading to the next person for Christmas.

Merry Christmas.
I hope you enjoy reading it. x

Journal Entry 4 by Andrea99 at Brighton & Hove, East Sussex United Kingdom on Sunday, December 25, 2016
Received as a Secret Santa book - thank you so much!!!

Journal Entry 5 by Andrea99 at Brighton & Hove, East Sussex United Kingdom on Friday, June 30, 2017
This tells the story of Thomas Howard, 3rd Duke of Norfolk, uncle to Anne and Mary Boleyn ....... who saw his father and brother beheaded at the Tower of London. He then marries his first wife and starts his family while his ambition entwines his life with that of King Henry 8th while still married to Catherine of Aragon. While that marriage disintegrates, his own marriage falters as his children die young, and - mirroring King Henry's dalliances - takes his own mistress Bess. As Thomas's ambition grows, his relationship with his wife worsens to the point she is sent away to another manor, while Bess attains all the fancy gowns and jewels but is denied the family of her own she desires most. Until she "accidentally" gets pregnant which sees the start of Thomas's faltering in King Henry's favour........ ultimating resulting in his own downfall. Although rescued to an extent by Queen Mary's ascendance to the throne, his home life will never be the same....... quite a story!

Journal Entry 6 by Andrea99 at Brighton & Hove, East Sussex United Kingdom on Monday, July 17, 2017

Released 3 yrs ago (7/17/2017 UTC) at Brighton & Hove, East Sussex United Kingdom

CONTROLLED RELEASE NOTES:

Sent to the winner of the Royal Sweeps! Hope you enjoy!

Journal Entry 7 by wingmcsarwing at Richmond, British Columbia Canada on Friday, August 25, 2017
Thank you for the lovely book. The back cover says it is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and The Tudors, and since I am a fan of both, this seems like the perfect pick for me.

-----------------------------------
Updated September 8, 2018

An engaging read with strong characters.

Journal Entry 8 by wingmcsarwing at RABCK, A RABCK -- Controlled Releases on Friday, October 05, 2018

Released 2 yrs ago (10/5/2018 UTC) at RABCK, A RABCK -- Controlled Releases

CONTROLLED RELEASE NOTES:

A birthday surprise to a lovely bookcrosser who has this on her wishlist. I hope you enjoy the book. Happy birthday and best wishes to you!

Journal Entry 9 by wingPoodlesisterwing at Walthamstow, Greater London United Kingdom on Thursday, November 01, 2018
Thank you for the wishlist book and the other lovely presents.

Journal Entry 10 by wingPoodlesisterwing at Walthamstow, Greater London United Kingdom on Saturday, December 22, 2018
A familiar story told from a different perspective. Gripping stuff.

Released 2 yrs ago (12/27/2018 UTC) at -- Controlled Release, -- By post or by hand/ in person -- United Kingdom

CONTROLLED RELEASE NOTES:

A surprise wishlist RABCK.

Journal Entry 12 by wingAbi-Gibbywing at Millbrook, Cornwall United Kingdom on Wednesday, January 02, 2019
Arrived whilst I was away in Scotland thank you very much

Journal Entry 13 by wingAbi-Gibbywing at Millbrook, Cornwall United Kingdom on Saturday, February 02, 2019
A very well written book about a familiar period in British history but from a different prespective

Congratulations, you have picked up a travelling book!
If you have a moment, we'd love you to let us know you have the book as we're keen to follow its journey. You can even post a review when you've read it before passing it on to the next lucky person.
Happy reading!


Not sure what to do? Follow these steps!

1) You may continue as an Anonymous Finder. Or, Register as a member , then you too will receive future journal entries on this book and track its journey around the world!

2) Make a journal entry on this book to let us know how you found it!

3) If you choose to read the book, please make another journal entry when you finish it to let us know what you thought!

4) Ready to pass the book on? Click on "make release notes" to let us know where it's going! Leave the book in a public place or give it to a friend!

***Please Note***
When re-releasing this book please be aware that airports are not a good place to leave books unless they have a specific book exchange shelf or area, due to security problems, so they may well just be disposed of.

**** Also charity shops may well discard books that have been labelled in any way and they mostly chose only the books in the very best condition to place on their shelves and discard the rest-so another bad release option. ****






Journal Entry 15 by wingHarobed82wing at Pornichet, Pays de la Loire France on Wednesday, February 06, 2019
Thank you Abi-Gibby for this book! :)

Journal Entry 16 by wingHarobed82wing at Pornichet, Pays de la Loire France on Wednesday, July 10, 2019
I really enjoyed this story, I found it well written and interesting.

Released 1 yr ago (3/13/2020 UTC) at Libération contrôlée, -- By post or by hand/ in person -- France

CONTROLLED RELEASE NOTES:

Sent to Florence71 who won at the "jeu du pendu en langues étrangères".
Enjoy! :)

Journal Entry 18 by wingFlorence71wing at Fontenay-sous-Bois, Ile-de-France France on Monday, March 16, 2020
Well received. Thanks Harobed82 for the book, Nice bookmark and post it !

Journal Entry 19 by wingFlorence71wing at Fontenay-sous-Bois, Ile-de-France France on Sunday, October 25, 2020
Not my kind.
For KirstyKat, HGG.

Journal Entry 20 by wingFlorence71wing at Holiday Gift Giving, Holiday Gift Giving -- Controlled Releases on Friday, February 05, 2021

Released 4 mos ago (2/6/2021 UTC) at Holiday Gift Giving, Holiday Gift Giving -- Controlled Releases

CONTROLLED RELEASE NOTES:

Happy HGG !

Journal Entry 21 by kirstykat at Potters Bar, Hertfordshire United Kingdom on Tuesday, February 16, 2021
A wonderful HGG Christmas 2020 from Florence 71. Thank you! I cannot wait to get started with this book.

Journal Entry 22 by kirstykat at Potters Bar, Hertfordshire United Kingdom on Monday, March 08, 2021
A slow starting book, and considering it is about the Howards and the Staffords I found the novel a bit flat to be honest.
It does pick up and the plot does thicken and does become more interesting, although I would have liked to have read more about Anne Boleyn.

It is at least in tune with the History and does not flagrantly twist or manipulate Truths

All in all a good book and I would read this author's work again.

Are you sure you want to delete this item? It cannot be undone.