Brocade

by Jan Merlin | Literature & Fiction |
ISBN: 0380799391 Global Overview for this book
Registered by Bulan-Purnama of Springfield, Oregon USA on 3/22/2016
Buy from one of these Booksellers:
Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR | Amazon IT | Bol.com
2 journalers for this copy...
Journal Entry 1 by Bulan-Purnama from Springfield, Oregon USA on Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Beautiful love story, read many years ago.

From Amazon customer review:

This novel defies categorization, which confounds the marketing people. In its original form, it seemed to have a romance novel cover and appeal. On the contrary, it is in the tradition of Thornbirds or Raj Quartet. This is a tragic story of an ainoko, or Japanese son of an American GI during the U.S. Occupation. A scathing and realistic depiction of America's military presence and its ethnocentricism, it contrasts sharply with the sad life of Heinie, the half-breed who is rejected as well by the purists of the Japanese culture. The work is written by former film star,Jan Merlin, whose face is familiar to movie goers and television fans of the 50s and 60s as one of the most notorious villains. Here he shows why he won an Emmy for his writing for television in 1976. The story contains a harrowing view of Hiroshima after nuclear conflagration and the Japanese theatre world after the war. Like many great epic stories, this one defies a single label. It is for readers to rediscover and to cherish, as they surely will. Highly recommended

Journal Entry 2 by dreammer at Batavia, Ohio USA on Tuesday, August 09, 2016
This came home in my wrap it up bookbox. I will be passing this along to my sisters TBR pile since this is more on her TBR list than mine. After she reads we will pass it along.

Are you sure you want to delete this item? It cannot be undone.