Books for Pre-school Thru 6th Grade About Kindness?

Forum » Book Talk | Refresh | Search

Sort Options 

Complete Thread
I'm on the committee to pick books for this year's community reader day in my town. On one day adults go into schools and read a book to each class. In 2017 the theme was teacher appreciation. My suggestion for this year's theme is "kindness" or "how children can make a positive difference in their community". I'd appreciate any ideas for books.

 

I'm wondering if any of the Berenstain Bears books would fit that theme? I don't know specific titles but you could Google a list.

 

I'm wondering if any of the Berenstain Bears books would fit that theme? I don't know specific titles but you could Google a list.

Thanks! I'll look into this idea. :-)

 

My suggestion for this year's theme is "kindness" or "how children can make a positive difference in their community". I'd appreciate any ideas for books.

With kindness and positive difference in mind it might be nice if it was possible to let the children bookcross the books afterwards.

 

With kindness and positive difference in mind it might be nice if it was possible to let the children bookcross the books afterwards.

When I read to a class last year, I gave the teacher a different book which was BC registered. She created an account and gave feedback about what the children thought. I had hoped it might move to other classes, but I haven't heard anything more.

 

when I was still teaching, there were 2 books I used with my early primary students every year. One was called *Owen & Mzee - The True Story of a Remarkable Friendship*, by Isabella Hatkoff, her dad Craig Hatkoff and Dr. Paula Kahumbu. You may know of it as it was quite the rage when it first came out. It's a lovely story of an unlikely friendship between 2 very different species of animals and the humans who came together to help and nurture both of them. The photos are lovely.

Another book that may be a bit harder to find (published in 1993) but is also wonderful is called *For Every Child A Better World* by Kermit the Frog in cooperation with the United Nations. The illustrations by Bruce McNally are terrific. As Brian Henson says in his introduction, his father (Jim) dreamed of making the world a better place. This book is a challenging and provocative book but also, a hopeful one. I used to read this to my class every year at Thanksgiving to open discussion about thankfulness and gratitude because those concepts can be rather abstract for such young kids. But in fact, even though this looks (because of the illustrations) that it might be aimed at a younger audience, I bet it would be a terrific and excellent portal to deeper discussions for older students, as well. It could lead to brainstorming ideas of what youth of today can do in their own communities as well as in larger forums, going forward, to make this world a kinder and safer and better place for the next generations.

I'd highly recommend both of these if you can find them.

 

Thank you! Those are exactly the types of discussions I hope will happen!

I looked for "Owen & Mzee - The True Story of a Remarkable Friendship" and found a couple of versions which are available for different levels of readers. The Kermit book looks as if it will be harder to find, but I will definitely keep my eyes open at book sales. Even if we can't find enough copies for all the schools, I could release them into my LFL's.

 

You might also try to order the Kermit one through Abesbooks.

Edited to add that I just checked and here is a link for you:

https://www.abebooks.com/---/SearchResults?...

 

Thanks!

 

Ordinary Mary's extraordinary deed by Emily Pearson
The invisible boy by Trudy Ludwig
These shoes by Maribeth Boelt

 

Ordinary Mary's extraordinary deed by Emily Pearson
The invisible boy by Trudy Ludwig
These shoes by Maribeth Boelt

They all sound great! Thanks for helping me with these suggestions.

 

Ordinary Mary's extraordinary deed by Emily Pearson


I shared the details of this book with the Literacy Council today, and most members seemed thrilled. Thanks again!

 

Too late for this year, but one to add to your list

Counting by 7s
From the publishers website:
ABOUT COUNTING BY 7S
A New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.



* “Willow’s story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers’ hearts long after the last page.”—School Library Journal starred review

* “A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet—but never cloying—lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss.”—Booklist starred review

 

Are you sure you want to delete this item? It cannot be undone.