Int'l Book Ring: 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff (CLOSED)

Forum » Bookrings, Bookrays, and Bookboxes | Refresh | Search

Sort Options 

Complete Thread
ETA: This ring is on the last leg of its journey, and currently in Europe...if anyone else is interested, please post here so it can make a stop for you before starting towards home!

Hallo all! So this is my first try at a bookring/ray and I'm very pleased to offer a copy of the delightful 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff which is about a lovely 20-year correspondence between Hanff, an American Author and FPD, British bookseller, from 1949-1969.

http://www.bookcrossing.com/---/1687801

The book is very slim, weighing about 2.4 oz (68 gms) and should not take too long to read.

Also, I have a request, this being my first ring, I'd really like if every participant could include a postcard telling us about their favourite local bookshop. If you don't have a postcard handy, even a note or other kind of card will do.

Sign up then with your location and shipping preferences! Let's get this rolling :)

ETA: Bookring order of shipping:

Maranlin (Canada, can ship anywhere)
jumpingin (Canada, can ship anywhere)
speciallisa (UK, can ship anywhere)
Merolia (Greece, EU shipping preferred)
chremajora (Germany, can ship anywhere)
Simson-Shilitoe (France, can ship anywhere)
book-a-neer (Australia, AUS shipping preferred) <------ book is here (October 2013)
ReallyBookish (USA, can ship anywhere)
Carmendoran (UK, EU shipping preferred)
Arvores (Portugal, can ship anywhere)

...back to me (prachitulshan)

This order can change as and when new participants join. If anyone wants any changes, please post here or PM me. Cheers!

An excellent choice! A delightful, quick read from an era when witty and meaningful correspondence by letter was still the done thing.