Books for Marita (please)?!

Forum » (Not-So-) Random Acts of BookCrossing Kindness | Refresh | Search

Sort Options 

Complete Thread
I would like to ask your attention for Marita. Some of you may still know her, but for those who don't, here is the original thread from Chremajora (3 years ago):

"This is a bit of a long story but please read on and consider if you are able to help. Thank you!
I live in Germany and teach English to adults. About 6 years ago, I started a new course for beginners and one participant was a lady in her mid- to late-fifties called Marita. Back in the days when she was a schoolgirl, there was no chance for her to learn English. It just wasn't on the curriculum at German schools, so she came to me as an absolute beginner.

Over the years, Marita's English improved. She went from being a very shy beginner who was frightened to say anything in case she made a mistake to being one of the best in the class, and along the way she discovered her love of books.

The longer these courses are together, the better you get to know the participants. Slowly but surely, I discovered a lot of details from her life - and most of them are really quite sad. I don't want to go into details in the forum as Marita really is a very private person and I don't think she would appreciate me telling the world all her troubles! But it is enough to say that she has had more than her fair share of bad luck over the years in one way or another. The worst thing, though, is the situation with her husband's ill health. (And this lady has health issues of her own, too - ranging from diabetes to watermelon stomach (GAVE)).

At the end of 2012, her husband was diagnosed with epilepsy and dementia at the same time. He is in a very bad way and cannot be left by himself at all. For Marita, this means that she will probably have to stop attending English classes. She finds this very upsetting as it is one of the few pleasures left to her in life.