corner corner My Sister's Child
corner corner

Books Registered open extended profile

Medium   by Lyn Andrews

category Women's Fiction
ISBN: 0747263655
Books Registered: 20
BookCrossing Rating: Average 8 star rating by BookCrossing Members
Books in the Wild: 9
Wishes for this book: click here




Amazon Editorial Review

Lyn Andrews' heart-warming and dramatic story of early twentieth-century Liverpool is essential reading for fans of Kate Thompson and Maureen Lee. For the inhabitants of Liverpool's Milton Street a steady income and a roof over their heads are luxuries. The Ryan family have barely grown accustomed to such things when a fire destroys their father Jack's modest coal haulage business, leaving Jack broken and his family facing ruin. They're forced to turn to Conor, Jack's brother from Ireland, a man whose noisy joviality seventeen-year-old Ellen Ryan suspects hides a mean viciousness. She's right, and with her mother sick and her half-sister Annie becoming increasingly feckless, it's down to Ellen to fight Conor's tyranny. But when Annie disappears, leaving her baby on their doorstep, Ellen begins fear for herself and for the life of the innocent child she has learnt to love...


Other books you might like:

20 Copies Registered


Registered by Kleptokitty on 1/20/2005

Current status: travelling This book has not been rated.


Registered by wingMolyneuxwing of Oxford, Oxfordshire United Kingdom on 7/10/2005

Current status: available This book has not been rated.


Registered by wingardachywing of Ipswich, Suffolk United Kingdom on 10/26/2013

Current status: travelling This book has not been rated.


Registered by ChinaSourcer of Norwich, Norfolk United Kingdom on 5/12/2005

Current status: to be read This book has not been rated.


Registered by mammafayers of Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex United Kingdom on 10/24/2009

Current status: travelling Average 6 star rating by BookCrossing Members


Registered by PussInBooks of Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire United Kingdom on 6/15/2010

Current status: available This book has not been rated.


Registered by Sterile of Burnley, Lancashire United Kingdom on 11/14/2005

Current status: travelling This book has not been rated.


Registered by -JAFFA- of Lincoln, Lincolnshire United Kingdom on 5/23/2006

Current status: travelling This book has not been rated.


Registered by LyzzyBee of Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom on 5/28/2007

Current status: travelling This book has not been rated.


Registered by countofmonte of Heanor, Derbyshire United Kingdom on 5/3/2008

Current status: travelling This book has not been rated.


Registered by Pookledo of Loughborough, Leicestershire United Kingdom on 5/10/2008

Current status: travelling This book has not been rated.


Registered by LongNeckBooks of Streatham, Greater London United Kingdom on 11/9/2009

Current status: travelling This book has not been rated.


Registered by mazda502001 of Ashford, Kent United Kingdom on 11/17/2002

Current status: all Average 8 star rating by BookCrossing Members


Registered by Marina1809 on 7/29/2003

Current status: permanent collection Average 7 star rating by BookCrossing Members


Registered by jumpingjean of Coal Township, Pennsylvania USA on 1/13/2005

Current status: available Average 8 star rating by BookCrossing Members


Registered by LynCollyer of Coalville, Leicestershire United Kingdom on 8/20/2006

Current status: travelling Average 10 star rating by BookCrossing Members


Registered by LynCollyer of Coalville, Leicestershire United Kingdom on 9/16/2006

Current status: travelling Average 10 star rating by BookCrossing Members


Registered by wingDFCUfriendswing of Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire United Kingdom on 10/19/2007

Current status: travelling This book has not been rated.


Registered by mammafayers of Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex United Kingdom on 10/24/2009

Current status: travelling Average 6 star rating by BookCrossing Members


Registered by LarmerTreeFest of Salisbury, Wiltshire United Kingdom on 7/7/2013

Current status: available This book has not been rated.


Are you sure you want to delete this item? It cannot be undone.