corner corner The Peculiar Life of a Lonely Postman

Medium

The Peculiar Life of a Lonely Postman
by Denis Thériault | Literature & Fiction
Registered by wingAnnimanniwing of Espoo, Uusimaa / Nyland Finland on 9/17/2014
This book has not been rated. 

status (set by Tarna): reserved


2 journalers for this copy...

Journal Entry 1 by wingAnnimanniwing from Espoo, Uusimaa / Nyland Finland on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

This book has not been rated.

From the publisher's website:

"An original, subtle and touching novel for fans of Haruki Murakami and Julian Barnes.

Denis Thériault weaves a passionate and elegant tale, comic and tragic with a love story at its heart. Philosophical, rich in description and detail, it cannot fail to move.

Bilodo lives a solitary daily life, routinely completing his post round every day and returning to his empty Montreal apartment. But he has found a way to break the cycle – Bilodo has taken to stealing people’s post, steaming open the envelopes and reading the letters inside.

And so it is he comes across Ségolène’s letters. She is corresponding with Gaston,
a master poet, and their letters are each composed of only haikus. The simplicity and elegance of their poems move Bilodo and he begins to fall in love with her.

But one day, out on his round, he witnesses a terrible and tragic accident. Just as Gaston is walking up to the postbox to mail his next haiku to Ségolène, he is hit by a car and
dies on the side of the road. And so Bilodo makes an extraordinary decision – he will impersonate Gaston and continue to write to Ségolène under this guise. But for how long can the deception continue?

Denis Thériault is an award-winning author and screenwriter living in Montreal. The Peculiar Life of a Lonely Postman is his second novel."

***
Bought at Gatwick. 


Journal Entry 2 by wingAnnimanniwing at Espoo, Uusimaa / Nyland Finland on Tuesday, June 12, 2018

This book has not been rated.

Very enjoyable! Quirky and original. I found myself giggling out loud several times while reading and especially liked the way the haikus and tankas were weaved into the story.

***
Reserved for someone who's into Canadian literature. Hope she hasn't read this one, yet! 


Journal Entry 3 by wingAnnimanniwing at Espoo, Uusimaa / Nyland Finland on Thursday, June 14, 2018

This book has not been rated.

Released 1 mo ago (6/15/2018 UTC) at Espoo, Uusimaa / Nyland Finland

CONTROLLED RELEASE NOTES:

On its way... 


Journal Entry 4 by wingTarnawing at Tampere, Pirkanmaa / Birkaland Finland on Wednesday, June 20, 2018

This book has not been rated.

2007 Japan-Canada Literary Award

And another Canadian book in the package! A book by an author I've never even heard of. Admittedly, I'm not too familiar with French Canadian literature, so it's always a joy learn more. And this one seems sooo interesting. I'm so excited. Thank you, Annimanni! You're the best.
 


Are you sure you want to delete this item? It cannot be undone.